Each semester eight of our highest achievers are selected to attend classes with the dean and spend a weekend with former Coca-Cola CEO Doug Ivester and other business leaders at Deer Run, Ivester's 25,000 acre property in Leary, Georgia.


At Deer Run, you will take part in a number of activities designed to:

  • Inform you about the business operations of a modern plantation and the impact such a plantation can have on the economy and culture of the South.
  • Stimulate you intellectually through lectures and discussion. Typically, at least one industry expert will be invited to Deer Run to speak about his or her area of expertise. Topics may include any aspect of business in a wide array of organizations (manufacturing, service, agriculture, non-profit, etc.).
  • Encourage you personally through discussions of their life and professional goals and plans.
  • Promote team building through activities associated with life on a large plantation. Examples include horseback riding, hiking, skeet shooting, etc.

Selection Process

  1. Nomination
    Prospective participants are recommended to the Dean by a Terry College faculty or staff member.
  2. Application
    Students are then notified of the nomination and submit a completed application (resume and short essay).
  3. Review
    Each application is reviewed by a Terry College faculty/staff committee that will narrow the applicant pool to a group of finalists.
  4. Interview
    Finalists will be invited to participate in individual interviews with the Terry College committee.


Participants are selected based upon

  • Demonstrated ability and desire to grow intellectually and personally from the Deer Run experience.
  • Excellent academic preparation and potential for continued learning

2017–2018 Fellows

Student Semester
Joshua Anderson Fall 2019
Sydney Hasler Fall 2019
Brandon Henderson Fall 2019
Curria Johnson Fall 2019
Brandon Kim Fall 2019
Lauren O'Neil Fall 2019
Nicolas Parris Fall 2019
Natalia Rivera Chica Fall 2019
Brendan Abernathy Spring 2019
Jordan Einstein Spring 2019
Morgan Feight Spring 2019
Lauren Gascon Spring 2019
Will MacArthur Spring 2019
Lauren Slappey Spring 2019
Devin Summers Spring 2019
Hannah Thompson Spring 2019